Gift Cards


2 in stock
Curbside Pickup Available or home delivery on in-town orders*


Sandra Boynton—author of such bestselling books as Moo, Baa, La La La! and The Going to Bed Book— and Michael Ford present this "too-illogical zoological musical revue," which showcases 17 original tracks inspired by Broadway. With a star-studded CD featuring songs like "Nobody Understands Me," performed by Meryl Streep, and the foot-stomping "Philadelphia Chickens," sung by the Bacon Brothers, this fauna-filled fiesta is pure genius and will have kids clucking along with the music in no time.

Grammy nominee. New York Times bestseller. And, with 1 million copies in print, a Recording Industry Association of America Platinum album. What an event! What a show! It’s Philadelphia Chickens—the catchy and quirky, tuneful and toe-tapping, exuberant, unexpected, and totally endearing family-musical-in-a-book.

Here is a full-color songbook of 18½ illustrated story-poems, and a full-length, fully orchestrated CD of original songs performed by such luminaries as Patti LuPone, Kevin Kline, Meryl Streep, The Bacon Brothers, and Laura Linney, who pleads "Please, Can I Keep It?—It followed me home./What exactly it is/I don't know." Also joining in are Eric Stoltz, Scott Bakula, and two Boyntons, including daughter Caitlin McEwan, who performs a piece that every little listener will relate to—a love song to the chocolate chip cookies that are just out of reach. With the collaboration of composer Michael Ford, Philadelphia Chickens is that rarest of kids' musical discs—one whose inimitable lyrics and music make it as irresistible to parents as it is to their children.

Recommended for ages 1 to 8 years


  • That curious Boynton pizzazz takes to the stage in Philadelphia Chickens, a zippy musical production for kids and way beyond.
  • Includes a fully-orchestrated CD of 18½ stunning songs sung by a celebrity cast.
  • Follow along with this imaginary musical revue in the snazzy illustrated book.
  • The first half of the book contains lyrics and illustrations, while the second half contains musical notation for each song.
  • 64 pages, hardcover
  • Book measures 10 x 8 inches
  • Written, Illustrated and Directed by: Sandra Boynton
  • Music by: Sandra Boynton and Michael Ford
  • Published by: Workman Publishing Co.
  • ISBN: 9780761126362
0 stars based on 0 reviews
Your Happiness Is Ours
Your Happiness Is Ours
Not 100% satisfied with your purchase? Let’s talk.
Have questions? Email us now

Customer Reviews

0 stars based on 0 reviews

+ Add your review
By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. These cookies help us understand how customers arrive at and use our site and help us make improvements. Hide this message More on cookies »